Forest Park Forever/St.Louis Audubon Society, Bird Walk, 041014

It was a nice chill morning as I set out early to Forest Park.

IMG_2411

The rising sun lit up the grasses:

IMG_2415

A pair of
WOOD DUCKS

were my first sighting:

IMG_2421

A
MALLARD

couple also appeared:

IMG_2423

The Mallard male is a bird of colour!

IMG_2498

The beauty of Forest Park never fails to enthral me.

IMG_2424

I enjoyed the perky

HOUSE SPARROWS

while waiting for the walk to start.

IMG_2429

Mark was leading the walk, and we set off.

IMG_2438

It was great to see a female

KESTREL:

IMG_2443

Scopes and cameras were trained on the raptor.

IMG_2446

Notice that fall apparel is being worn!

IMG_2444

Three

MOURNING DOVES

made a nice composition:

IMG_2456

I liked these flowers, too!

IMG_2465

IMG_2502

This ground-cover plant (I’d like to know the name) makes for a carpet of tiny pink flowers:

IMG_2508

We gathered on the bank of the creek as we watched a

BELTED KINGFISHER:

IMG_2467

An

EASTERN PHOEBE

delighted us in the Prairie area:

IMG_2471

IMG_2488

Mitch Leachman ,

as always, was a fount of information about the birds.

IMG_2482

He told us how watching even the everyday, backyard birds, and learning about their behaviour, would be very satisfying; something I agree with, heartily!

We spotted two

GREBES

in the water.

IMG_2490

IMG_2492

When a bird sat high up on a tree, giving the Deepa Mohan pose, it took a while for me to realize it was the

AMERICAN ROBIN:

IMG_2504

We had such a lovely time that the walk extended quite a bit!

IMG_2507

A migrating

MONARCH

alighted on my sleeve, and I realized, looking at its damaged wing, that it would not make the full journey…

IMG_2513

I think this was a

SAVANNAH SPARROW

but I am not sure:

IMG_2528

We saw the Kestrel again, eating a quick breakfast:

IMG_2524

We also sighted a mating ritual:

IMG_2542

Here’s Mitch, in front of the Muny, sharing his knowledge:

IMG_2543

IMG_2546

We wound up looking at the

RED-EARED SLIDERS:

IMG_2548

I bid good-bye to yet another Monarch as I set off home:

IMG_2556

click here

for the bird list on eBird.

All the photos from my FB album are

here

A very enjoyable morning, thanks to the efforts of Mark for FPF, and Mitch for SLAB!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

