Bus ride from Goteborg to Linkoping, 150614

It was to be a 4-hour bus ride to get to Linkoping (by the way, the latter is pronounced lin-show-ping and the “shoping” is similar to the modern English “shopping”…there were markets which then grew into these towns/cities .)

I started with a prismatic tram-shelter seat as we waited to get to the Central Station:

IMG_0939

As we took the tram through Goteborg, to the central bus/train station, I saw some buildings.

I looked at what I felt must be an ancient water tower, and Google tells me that it is, indeed:

IMG_0940

An ancient church, probably..the solidity of those buildings!

IMG_0941

We approached the Central Station:

IMG_0944

It was a picture-postcard!

IMG_0946

Nearby was an hotel:

IMG_0945

As my bus left Goteborg, I didn’t know what this more modern tower was:

IMG_0949

Signs helped me know where we were headed:

IMG_0950

IMG_0951

A town that we passed:

IMG_0952

Lovely to see the modern bus shelter and the ancient copper-covered cupola!

I realized that the Bus Gods must be appeased:

IMG_0954

This was in Jonkoping:

IMG_0955

Contrary to everything I’d heard, cars began to pile up (I counted more than forty in line!) at this traffic signal:

IMG_0960

We were travelling along the large Lake Vattern.

IMG_0970

Another beautiful spire:

IMG_0963

Our drivers were Mike, and Pia, reflected here:

IMG_0967

I saw windmills but didn’t tilt at them:

IMG_0972

Beautiful meadows sped past:

IMG_0976

We arrived in Linkoping:

IMG_0978

Ikea! I’ve always wanted to visit this place IN Sweden (I’ve visited in several other countries and cities).

IMG_0980

I was hoping to see the Gota Canal, but I only saw the sign.

IMG_0982

Fleecy clouds, pretty houses and green trees welcomed me:

IMG_0985

IMG_0986

IMG_0987

A very witty sculpture of a hoop, with a dog looking askance at it, was at one roundabout (if you look carefully, you can see the small dog.)

IMG_0989

The hoop itself was a marvel of balance!

IMG_0990

I passed “Biltema”, which my cyclist friend Prashanth Chengi, whom I met on LiveJournal, tells me is a cycle store:

IMG_0991

Prashanth just finished the cycling marathon of Sweden…the Vatternrundan, a 300-km ride around Lake Vattern!

A quick view of the Linkoping Cathedral:

IMG_0992

I hope to find out what this cigarette-lighter building is:

IMG_0994

Was this a planetarium or telescope? I couldn’t tell.

IMG_0995

I didn’t like these smokestacks quite so much!

IMG_0997

But at Linkoping Station and Bus Stand, my journey came to an end!

IMG_0999

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

