In memory of Akash

My friends Sujata and Ravi Dube’s son Akash passed away exactly a year ago, to leukemia. Akash had fought back spiritedly, and even organized a Terry Fox Run in Chennai. I think he conquered the illness with his outlook.

I made friends with Sharbari Lahiri through Facebook, as a mutual friend. She lives in Ontario, Canada. We’ve become firm friends now..and I’ve been enjoying getting to know her family as well.

In memory of Akash Dube, Daniel Presta, her 16-year-old son, has written this:

AKASH

I am the morning
The sunrise at dawn
A calming reminder
All dark skies are gone

I am a tulip
On a snow-covered hill
A symbol of nature
My presence there still

I am an eagle
Soaring over the fields
My spirit held tightly
My smile it does wield

I am the ocean
So vast and composed
Yet bold and courageous
No fear will I show

I am the watchman
The guardian of dreams
An unafraid leader
With a kind-hearted gleam

I am bright laughter
Pure pleasure and joy
An uplifting man
An inspiring boy

I am the reason
The sun burns so bright
That sadness is shattered
That darkness is light

I am a dreamer
Tears I do not cry
I am a champion
I am the sky

-Daniel Presta

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

